top of page

Assessment Post (Last Post)

Painting is a faith, and it imposes the duty to disregard public opinion"

~ Vincent Van Gogh

In semester 1, my works mainly focused on Fantasy related and abstract things, and till now they are as well.At the start of the year it was pretty exciting for me cause i was starting a whole new thing , Most or all students here have been here since year 1 , but me on the other hand , transferred my studies from another University to here, so i'm in Year 2 and i'm pretty much new to the whole system and things haven't been that easy but well i've been finding my through it all, after all its almost been a year anyways. So since the previous assessment my ideas fro my paintings usually came from places i'd want to visit or seen them on T.V or in books or some ideas came to me from just looking around, like the night sky or the moon. So this semester i decided to focus on this one thing , where i'll be taking pictures of real places around me , and paint them fantasy themed. It was something i decided recently. Weeks back we had two students from the Royal Academy who came to talk about their works, and one of them caught my interest so I signed up for a tutorial with her.She told me everything that i wanted to know , she's been to Japan and has done an exchange programme there which i found really amazing. She told me her experience. I was pretty happy to know them. We spoke about my works and talking to her made me realise something i already knew.So after that i decided to do the taking pictures of real places , or real architectural things and turn them Fantasy-like. I recently had got my studio assessment done and received my feedback as well, which kind of sucked for me, after that i lost motivation in everything , in continuing painting , it felt like a i hit a wall which was impossible to break through, even though i felt that since my last assessment my works might have developed a new understanding. Well that was obviously just me. In future i plan on combining surrealism in my paintings as well. I'll be working either on canvases or on paper. Lastly I also plan on combining Japanese culture with my fantasy themed paintings.Some of the many artists that i have looked at this semester were Peter Doig, Casper David Friedrich , Vincent Van Gogh,Michael Raedecker, Michael Whelan, Luis Royo and Patricia Mccraken.

"Art speaks where words are unable to explain"

~ Mathiole

"To practice any Art , no matter how well or badly , is a way to make your soul grow , so DO IT"

~Kurt Vonnegut


Hello, the name's Nicole 

Just another Artist, Welcome to my page, I hope you like and enjoy my works.~

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page