top of page

Patricia Mcckraken (Part 2)

An exclusive interview with Patricia Intrigued me , she talks bout her Art and influences. Since she was influenced by the Japanese Art during the Edo period, it interests me more cause that was the Era of the Samurai.

so the interview i going of Patricia Mccraken online.

Interviewer- When did you decide you wanted to make art your profession?

P- Art was always a part of my life. Ever since I can remember I've been sketching or painting. It wasn't really a decision I made. I was just born into it.

Interviewer- What are your favorite science fiction books. Fantasy? TV and movies?

P- That's a tough one. It's hard to say what my favorites are. Mostly I like fantasy novels over hardcore science fiction. Growing up I read all of Anne McCaffrey's Dragon Rider of Pern books. I just loved her dragons. Right now I have a passion for darker novels. Vampires, werewolves and such. Laurell Hamilton is one writer I like. However, I love to watch sci fi. Star Trek, Doctor Who, and now I'm addicted to Stargate. Although that doesn't impact my art as much and I never do fan art. It just never really appealed to me. I like to create my own images.

Interviewer- You've said, Your influences are Japanese wood block prints.?

P- I've always loved the beauty and elegance that seems to permeate through all aspects of the Japanese culture. Everything from food to gardens, to even wrapping gifts are done with an eye to the aesthetic. The wood block prints have such an elegance to them even though they were mass market items at the time. I just love that. I don't think I have a favorite artist per se, but I like the Ukiyo-e prints of the Edo period. Particularly the latter end were you see the bold colors and patterns. Unfortunately, I never had the opportunity to study Japanese art in school, so I'm learning as I go.

Interviewer- You've said, Using a variety of techniques, I'm able to achieve a painting that is very different from the traditional watercolor look.?

P- Sure. I have some of the ?Touch a Phoenix? painting. They?re not great photos, but they at least show how I paint. It's mostly a series of washes and a whole lot of patients.

I start with a sketch that I mask out so that I can create the background. Once I have that to my satisfaction I remove the mask and get to work on the foreground figures.

Using a variety of techniques, I'm able to achieve a painting that is very different from the traditional watercolor look.

Most watercolor paintings are done with light washes of color and without masks. This can make the painting seem a bit washed out and causes the ring of color you see at the edges of the paint. I, however, like a bolder look with smoother transitions of color. To do that I start by masking out the foreground figures, so that I can create the background without worrying about the rest of the painting. Many are surprised that my paintings are watercolor and not oil, because of their depth of color.

I have some pictures of the "Touch a Phoenix" painting. They're not great photos, but they at least show how I paint. It's mostly a series of washes and a whole lot of patients. I start with a sketch that I mask out so that I can create the background. Once I have that to my satisfaction I remove the mask and get to work on the foreground figures.

The interview was indeed interesting for me to read. Just like Patricia said at first that Art was always part of her life and it wasnt a decision made and she was born into it, I could relate to her on that, cause Art was always a part of my life too, and i was born into it.


Hello, the name's Nicole 

Just another Artist, Welcome to my page, I hope you like and enjoy my works.~

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page